News

How to watch: Pokemon Sword and Shield Direct to reveal more about Nintendo Switch games – CNET

pokemon-shield-sword-nintendo-switch

More Pokemon Sword and Shield details are coming Wednesday.

The Pokemon Company

Nintendo is whipping up Pokemania ahead of E3 2019 with a 15-minute dose of fresh details about upcoming Switch games Pokemon Sword and Shield.

The livestream, which we’ve embedded below, will kick off at 6 a.m. PT (9 a.m. ET/2 p.m. BST/11 p.m. AEST) on Wednesday.

We got a bunch of details on the wider franchise from the Pokemon Company’s 2019 press conference last week — including the announcement of Pokemon Sleep — but Wednesday’s stream will shift the focus back to the core game series.

It’s likely that we’ll be introduced to new Pokemon beyond starters Sobble, Scorbunny and Grookey, more of Galar’s locations and gameplay mechanics. We could even get a release date — it’s currently scheduled to come out by the end of 2019.








































Now playing: Watch this: Nintendo shows latest Pokemon game, Sword and Shield



2:13

Nintendo will have a more general Direct livestream on June 11 as part of the annual E3 gaming convention, which takes place in Los Angeles from June 11 to 13, so we could get more Sword and Shield details there too.

Check out our sister site GameSpot for more on Wednesday’s Pokemon Direct.

First published at 4:34 a.m. PT.
Updated at 5:31 a.m. PT: Adds more detail.